Skip to content
Blackpool Counts — Blackpool, in numbers.Local help →

Blackpool, in numbers

People and living standards

Blackpool council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Blackpool council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 148,617 in 1991 to 143,492 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Blackpool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 147,579 people in 1996; 143,492 people in 2025. 2.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991148,617
1992150,221
1993151,099
1994150,721
1995149,594
1996147,579
1997145,514
1998144,120
1999142,995
2000143,035
2001142,270
2002142,164
2003142,658
2004143,143
2005143,688
2006143,733
2007143,644
2008142,921
2009142,578
2010142,753
2011142,080
2012142,565
2013142,733
2014142,253
2015141,788
2016141,996
2017142,121
2018141,880
2019142,407
2020141,560
2021140,976
2022141,442
2023142,525
2024143,353
2025143,492
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Blackpool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,987 people in 1996; 24,954 people in 2025. 7.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,554
199226,218
199326,832
199427,234
199527,312
199626,987
199726,813
199826,701
199926,707
200026,949
200126,820
200226,553
200326,353
200426,334
200526,318
200626,128
200725,973
200825,702
200925,546
201025,571
201125,408
201225,622
201325,477
201425,204
201525,193
201625,100
201725,297
201825,405
201925,660
202025,236
202124,600
202224,921
202325,164
202425,199
202524,954
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Blackpool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 91,117 people in 1996; 88,144 people in 2025. 3.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,825
199292,935
199393,359
199492,995
199592,285
199691,117
199789,699
199888,909
199987,999
200088,078
200187,567
200287,807
200388,650
200489,316
200590,045
200690,438
200790,774
200890,303
200989,997
201089,967
201189,317
201288,960
201388,969
201488,436
201587,963
201688,151
201788,022
201887,694
201987,786
202087,355
202187,014
202287,060
202387,725
202488,118
202588,144
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Blackpool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,475 people in 1996; 30,394 people in 2025. 3.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,238
199231,068
199330,908
199430,492
199529,997
199629,475
199729,002
199828,510
199928,289
200028,008
200127,883
200227,804
200327,655
200427,493
200527,325
200627,167
200726,897
200826,916
200927,035
201027,215
201127,355
201227,983
201328,287
201428,613
201528,632
201628,745
201728,802
201828,781
201928,961
202028,969
202129,362
202229,461
202329,636
202430,036
202530,394
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 141,039 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackpool · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,6762.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7110.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,2101.6%
White133,55094.7%
Other ethnic group8920.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 142,065 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackpool · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White137,33996.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,7531.2%
Asian/Asian British2,2821.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3460.2%
Other ethnic group3450.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 142,283 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Blackpool · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,01698.4%
Mixed8000.6%
Asian/Asian British7050.5%
Black/Black British2180.2%
Chinese/Other5440.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Blackpool council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,378 per person in 1997; £19,921 per person in 2024. 112.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,378
19989,524
19999,774
200010,387
200110,505
200210,649
200310,546
200410,838
200510,967
200611,236
200711,732
200812,030
200912,574
201012,811
201113,268
201213,324
201313,654
201413,986
201514,516
201614,876
201715,333
201815,577
201916,159
202016,328
202116,821
202217,513
202318,783
202419,921
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Blackpool council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -11.6% in 1997; -23.3% in 2024. 11.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Blackpool council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-11.6
1998-12
1999-13.6
2000-12.7
2001-15.1
2002-15.8
2003-19.1
2004-20.1
2005-22
2006-23.3
2007-23.5
2008-23.6
2009-21.5
2010-20.7
2011-18.6
2012-21.1
2013-22
2014-22.7
2015-23.7
2016-22.7
2017-22.2
2018-23.7
2019-23.3
2020-22.2
2021-23
2022-23.7
2023-23.2
2024-23.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

51%

21 March 2021 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

26.7%

21 March 2021 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.6%

21 March 2021 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

9.1%

21 March 2021 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£137,000

July 2026 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£719

August 2026 · Blackpool council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.